Skip to content

Thanks, Mrs. O but I’ll eat whatever I want

February 10, 2010

Well, Michelle Obama is officially out to fight childhood obesity.  Why?  Because obese kids are a threat to national security. Yea, you heard me.  Don’t believe me.  Read it here and see for yourself.

“Nanny State?” I think so.  With all due respect Mrs. Obama, I have my own mom.  Thank you.  Last time I checked every human knows that sugar is bad for you, that excessive amounts of fats is bad for you.  The bottom line is, we live in a free country.  If you want to eat yourself to obesity, go right on ahead, you’re free to do so.  It’s not the governments job to tell you what you can and cannot eat.  And this crazy idea that obese children are a threat to national security is beyond hilarious.  Generally, obese children are not the ones dreaming of going to boot camp and having their butts kicked by physical activity. 

What I gather from this “Let’s Move” campaign by Mrs. Obama is- the American people are stupid.  They’re too stupid to know that sugar and junk food is bad for them.  It appears to be another attempt by the government to control another area of our lives.  I’ve got two words for Mrs. Obama and the White House: BACK OFF.

 “The government needs to butt out of my eating habits. If I want to eat doughnuts, I will. If I want some celery sticks, then I’ll have some.”

I saw that pop in my twitter stream from one of my followers.

Oh, and you know what I had for breakfast this morning?mm yummy! cinnamon sugar donuts! And for lunch, I might eat something healthy, I might not.  I’ll be the one to make that decision, not the government.  Thanks.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 3:25 am

    Ma’am, I didn’t see any where in that article about the government deciding what you can and can’t eat. In fact, in other news accounts that I’ve read about this initiative, the first lady emphasizes that parents are ultimately the ones who are responsible for making sure that their kids eat healthier. In fact, she said: “There’s no expert on this planet that says the government telling people what to do really does any good on this issue.”

    Also, this isn’t simply a government thing. The government is partnering with community groups and private sector companies like Pepsi.

    She also said, “There is a place in this life for cookies and ice cream and burgers and fries, that is a part of childhood. This is just about balance, about really small changes that can add up, like walking to school when you can, replacing soda with water or skim milk, trimming portions just a little.” This doesn’t sound like some communist conspiracy to me.

    Nearly a third of American children are overweight or obese, which is the triple the rate of thirty years ago. If you want to pooh-pooh her argument about military recruitment, consider the fact that 75% of young Americans are already considered unfit for service. Much of that is due to being excessively overweight and also due to health problems associated with that weight. This is coming from Fox News. http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,572351,00.html

    The percentage of American adults who are obese or overweight is 65%. http://www.news-medical.net/news/2004/06/11/2381.aspx

    I might also point out that one of the reasons that health insurance costs have risen significantly is because of the amount of medical treatment required for obese and overweight individuals.

  2. PaleoSapiens permalink
    February 13, 2010 3:31 am

    Nice to see you stand up to the “I know-what’s-good-for-you” people.

    As history has shown, numerous times, small incremental loss of freedom is insidious. It’s like a weed vine slowly choking out other plants. Ignore the vine and it will eventually take over completely.

    As to sugar itself being bad for you, I disagree. Just as with virtually everything else, excessive amounts are what become destructive. Contrary to lame-stream-media/educational influence, nutrition requirements vary tremendously from individual to individual. Too bad this is not a well-known fact.

Trackbacks

  1. Obesity A Threat To … National Security?? « The Underground Conservative

Leave a Reply

